EMAP Accreditation: Five Things You Need to Know

Jun 27, 2024
Is your emergency management or homeland security plan certified by the Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP)?

If not, it can (and should be). As the only accreditation process for such plans, EMAP is considered the “gold seal” among organizations involved in disaster and emergency management.

Preparis, a leader in emergency and continuity planning, values this prestigious designation and wants to help your organization (like so many of its clients) earn it. Here are five important things to know as you consider, start, or even work through the EMAP accreditation process.

1. What is EMAP?

EMAP is an independent, non-profit organization that fosters excellence and accountability in emergency management and homeland security programs by establishing credible standards applied in a peer review accreditation process. This process evaluates emergency management programs on compliance with requirements in sixteen areas, including planning, resource management, training, exercises, evaluations, corrective actions, communications and warning, and administration.

2. Broad Scope of Emergency Management

EMAP defines “emergency management” broadly. It includes all organizations with emergency/disaster functions in a jurisdiction, not just one agency or department. This can include local, state, federal, higher education, and tribal governments.

3. Steps to Accreditation

There are five steps to the EMAP accreditation process. Though rigorous, many organizations have successfully obtained this highly regarded certification. They are now considered among the nation’s “best prepared” organizations. For example, Rhode Island received national accreditation for EMAP at the State House in January 2018.

4. Demonstrating Compliance

To achieve accreditation, applicants must demonstrate through self-assessment, documentation, and peer assessment verification that their program meets the Emergency Management Standard. This proves the capabilities of their disaster preparedness and response systems.

5. Maintaining Accreditation

EMAP accreditation is valid for five years, and the program must maintain compliance with the Emergency Management Standard to preserve its accreditation during that time.

Getting Started

If you haven’t started the accreditation process yet, you can begin by subscribing to EMAP online. This simple step gives you immediate access to the Program Assessment Tool and other services.

Training Opportunities

Consider participating in EMAP Virtual Cohort Emergency Management Standard Training.

  • August 20-23, 2024, from 12-5 p.m. ET
  • October 15-18, 2024, from 12-5 p.m. ET

These events provide an excellent opportunity to learn from others who have experienced EMAP accreditation and are passionate about emergency and continuity planning.

How Preparis Can Help

With extensive experience in Continuity of Operations/Government, Emergency Operations, Business Continuity, and Hazard Mitigation plans, Preparis is a trusted resource ready to assist you. Contact us at [email protected] or call 855-447-3750 to learn more now.

Purpose-Built Continuity Planning for the Public Sector.

Preparis offers all the essential tools for continuity of government planning and is trusted by over 10,000 organizations.